Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Prof. Henry Schaefer Awarded AIC Gold Medal


Gold Medal of the American Institute of Chemists

Professor Henry F. Schaefer of the Department of Chemistry has received the highest honor of the American Institute of Chemists (AIC). The AIC Gold Medal is awarded in recognition of service to the science and profession of chemistry and chemical engineering.

Schaefer obtained his PhD in Chemical Physics from Stanford University under supervision of John I. Brauman in 1969 for work with Frank E. Harris, and he started his academic career as an Assistant Professor at University of California, Berkeley in the same year. In 1987, he moved to University of Georgia where he has since served as the Graham Perdue Professor of Chemistry, and the Director of the Center for Computational Quantum Chemistry (CCQC). Schaefer was President of the World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists from 1996 to 2005, and over the course of his career has been granted numerous visiting professorships worldwide, He has long served the Division of Physical Chemistry of the American Chemical Society in diverse functions.

Dr. Schaefer's research is focused on the development of theoretical and computational methods in quantum chemistry and on the application of such methods to contemporary problems in chemistry, including the structures, reactions, and spectroscopy of molecules as large as stacked base pairs and gallium nitride nanowires.


Graham Perdue Professor

Support Us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate inquiries: 

Registration and credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate inquiries:

Contact Us!

Assistant to the Department Head: Donna Spotts, 706-542-1919 

Main office phone: 706-542-1919 

Main Email:

Head of Chemistry: Prof. Jason Locklin