Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Dr. Kelly Hines Receives ASMS Research Award

Portrait of Dr. Kelly Hines

Dr. Kelly Hines, Assistant Professor in the UGA Department of Chemistry, will receive an ASMS Research Award at the 71st Annual Meeting of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry. The award, funded by Bruker, will provide $35,000 to promote the research of the Hines Lab and is the society‚Äôs highest recognition for early-career researchers in the field of mass spectrometry. ASMS Research Awards promote the research of academic scientists within the first four years of joining the tenure-track or research faculty of a North American University at the time the award is conferred. 

Considered a rising star in the field of Mass Spectrometry, Dr. Hines was recently elected to the society's board as the Member-at-Large for Publications. Her two-year term will begin July 1st, 2023. Dr. Hines has authored research publications in top-tier analytical chemistry and molecular sciences journals such as Analytical Chemistry, Journal of Lipid Research, and Molecular Cell. She has been the recipient of several noteworthy awards, including a U.S. Pharmacopoeia Fellowship, the ACS Dan Su Travel Award, and several Young Investigator travel awards. Kelly joined the Department of Chemistry at University of Georgia as an Assistant Professor in 2019.

Research Areas:

Support Us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate inquiries: 

Registration and credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate inquiries:

Contact Us!

Assistant to the Department Head: Donna Spotts, 706-542-1919 

Main office phone: 706-542-1919 

Main Email:

Head of Chemistry: Prof. Jason Locklin