Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Development of Electrochemical Atomic Layer Deposition (E-ALD) Methods for IV-VI Semiconductors

Pauline Howell
Pauline Howell
Chemistry Building, Room 400
Analytical Seminar

Electrochemical atomic layer deposition( E-ALD) is a technique pioneered by the Stickney research group. E-ALD makes use of underpotential deposition to deposit surface limited amounts of material, improving control and quality of thin films.1 In order to create a successful deposition sequence, cyclic voltammetry studies are done to find appropriate deposition parameters. Choice of solution electrolyte and pH have major impact on the deposited films. In these studies, both SnSe and GeSe are investigated. SnSe and GeSe are chalcogenide semiconductors with uses in various devices. SnSe is an absorber material that can be used in photovoltaic devices as well as phase change memory data storage devices.2 GeSe is a material that can be used in Ovonic Threshold Switching selector devices.3 This talk will show the role of solution electrolyte has on deposition control of SnSe. It will also cover studies on pH dependence in an effort to deposit GeSe.


1. Abstr. Pap. Am. Chem. S. 1991, 201, 289-Coll.

2. Electrochem. 2002, 18 (8), 349-366.

3. Appl. Phys. Lett. 2013, 103, 042908

Support Us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate inquiries: 

Registration and credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate inquiries:

Contact Us!

Assistant to the Department Head: Donna Spotts, 706-542-1919 

Main office phone: 706-542-1919 

Main Email:

Head of Chemistry: Prof. Jason Locklin