Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Advances in Chromium(III) Photocatalysis: Catalyst Design and Reaction Development

Bradley Gall
Bradley Gall
Graduate Student, Department of Chemistry
University of Georgia
Organic Seminar

Over the past few decades, photoredox catalysis has emerged as a powerful tool for new bond formation. Acting as an oxidant or a reductant, an excited-state metal complex can generate reactive radical intermediates via a single-electron transfer process. The most commonly used transition-metal photocatalysts are ruthenium or iridium complexes. Our group has utilized chromium(III) complexes in a variety of different photoredox transformations. Notably, we have been able to accomplish (4+2) cycloaddition reactions using electron-rich or electron-deficient dienophiles, a (2+1) cycloaddition with diazoacetates, and a (3+2) cycloaddition with vinyl diazoacetates while employing [Cr(Ph2phen)3](BF4)3 and visible light as the photocatalytic system. While working with collaborators in an attempt to expand the scope of chromium(III) photocatalysis, the development of novel chromium(III) photocatalysts for reaction discovery will be discussed. Efforts to utilize chromium(III) photocatalysis, along with the design of an intramolecular Baeyer-Villiger reaction, toward the synthesis of the Cripowellin alkaloids will also be mentioned. Lastly, in working with collaborators at UGA, the scalable synthesis of a unique ketohydroperoxide intermediate along the hydrocarbon oxidation mechanism will be highlighted.

Chromium Photocatalysis image


1) For reviews on photoredox catalysis see: (a) Prier, C. K.; Rankic, D. A.; MacMillan, D. W. C. Chem. Rev. 2013, 113, 5322-5363. (b) Romero, N. A.; Nicewicz, D. A. Chem. Rev. 2016, 116, 10075-10166. (c) Narayanam, J. M. R.; Stephenson C. R. J. Chem. Soc. Rev. 2011, 40, 102-113.

2) (a) Stevenson, S. M.; Shores, M. P.; Ferreira, E. M. Angew. Chem., Int. Ed. 2015, 54, 6506−6510. (b) Stevenson, S. M.; Higgins, R. F.; Shores, M. P.; Ferreira, E. M. Chem. Sci. 2017, 8, 654-660. (c) Sarabia, F. J.; Ferreira, E. M. Org. Lett. 2017, 19, 2865-2868. (d) Sarabia, F. J.; Li, Q.; Ferreira, E. M. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2018, 57, 11015-11019. (e) McDaniel, A. M.; Tseng, H.-W.; Damrauer, N. H.; Shores, M. P. Inorg. Chem. 2010, 49, 7981-7991.

3) (a) Velten, R.; Erdelen, C.; Gehling, M.; Göhrt, A.; Gondol, D.; Lockhoff, O.; Wachendorff, U.; Wendisch, D. Tetrahedron Lett. 1998, 39, 1737-1740. (b) Presley, C. C.; Krai, P., Dalal, S.; Su, Q.; Cassera, M.; Goetz, M.; Kingston, D. G. I. Bioorg. Med. Chem. 2016, 24, 5418-5422.

4) Zádor, J.; Taatjes, C. A.; Fernandes, R. X. Progress in Energy and Combustion Science, 2011, 37, 371-421.

Support Us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate inquiries: 

Registration and credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate inquiries:

Contact Us!

Assistant to the Department Head: Donna Spotts, 706-542-1919 

Main office phone: 706-542-1919 

Main Email:

Head of Chemistry: Prof. Jason Locklin