Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer



Harrop Spectrometer

Dr. Todd Harrop and Dr. Michael Johnson of the UGA Chemistry Department have been awarded a grant of $343,686 from the Major Research Instrumentation program of the National Science Foundation.  This program serves to “increase access to multi-user scientific and engineering instrumentation for research and research training in our Nation's institutions of higher education.”  The program provides an avenue for research teams to acquire advanced instrumentation that is vitally important to achieving advances in fundamental science and engineering research. 

The grant will fund the acquisition of a Bruker EMXplus EPR spectrometer that will impact research across the campus in numerous fields including chemistry (synthesis of inorganic and organic molecules), materials science (solid-state polymeric or nanomaterials), and biology (metalloenzymes and metalloproteins). The grant will also enhance the research training of students who will become the next generation of instrument users, designers and builders.

Their proposal was awarded after critical peer evaluation against 863 competing academic proposals.


Support Us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate inquiries: 

Registration and credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate inquiries:

Contact Us!

Assistant to the Department Head: Donna Spotts, 706-542-1919 

Main office phone: 706-542-1919 

Main Email:

Head of Chemistry: Prof. Jason Locklin